What I dislike the most.

The Baby Hogger – I personally think that the only people allowed to hog a baby are their parents. Yes, a baby is meant to be shared in a certain way. But constant hogging of a baby.. Can be quite a pain. I know of a dear friend whose you-know-who hogs her baby and bring the little kid into her own room, close the door and kept the baby off the sight of the mother. Or the scenarios where you tried to go into a room where your baby was taken to and you had to bear with nasty comments. Or cases where you passed your baby to let someone hold because they requested to. But when you ask to hold your baby back they commented that you are snatching your baby back. Yup, I roll-y my eyes yo.

The Inconsiderate bugger – you know the kind that talks really loud, the kind that slams the door, the kind you tell him/her that a baby is trying to sleep and they continue to talk at the top of their voice..You get my drift. Ever since I had little Charley, I made a conscious effort to minimize loud noises when she’s sleeping. I give her white noises but I don’t give her noises. There’s a difference in that. I made a mental note to myself to be extra considerate because I’ve once pressed the door bell to a dear friend’s home forgetting about the little one. Thank goodness the little prince continued to sleep soundly.

Those who conversations have double meanings – you know how some people make comments or talk about a certain something but actually means another? Like ‘shooting arrows right at your face’, or comment to baby but those words are actually meant for your ears? I told off someone regards to this before and it better don’t happen to another. This is almost equivalent to someone who shoots their mouth off without thinking. I rather you go shoot a bird.

The Advisor – so many people have been there done that. Sometimes your advices may be good, but sometimes just let the parents try their own method if they’ve already acknowledge your advices. I personally dislike advices which are repeatedly told to me. They made it like I had to do it their way. There is a different and modernized approach on how to raise a kid these days. Whatever worked in the past may not necessary work best in the current generation. Just saying.

The Commenter – ‘oh she’s biting this, it’s dirty!’ ‘Oh your baby is in pain!’ ‘Oh she wants me to carry her!’ I once went to NTUC to grab some groceries with my mum and a promoter took an interest in taking to me. She commented that Charley follows after me, being skinny and all. Once she learnt that I opted for caesarean she gave a disgusted look and ask me why I had gone for that. My reply to her was that I probably didn’t have enough energy to push. She continued to say caesarean causes two points of pain and it was better to go natural and I told her that it doesn’t matter how did the baby came out as long as she came out safe and healthy. I thought I’ve shut her for a bit but nope, the conversation didn’t just end here. She went on to say that ‘now you finally understand that it’s not easy being a mum once you’re a mum!’ I wanted to tell her that I didn’t have to be a mum to know. I already knew because I have a mum. Well, sometimes, just sometimes, keep your comments to yourself if they are non-constructive.

If I am whom I was in the past, I may not exactly hold my temper down and bear with these people listed above. But now I hold back myself because I am a role model to my kid. These people listed above are not the ones who are going to nurture your kid. They are not the ones who are going to take care of your kid. So, do what you deem best for your baby.

Leave a Reply

