Charley’s solids – Purple Sweet Potato

Okay, I didn’t know that the sweet potato that I’ve bought from our local organic store turns out to be purple. I thought the skin was purple and the flesh orange. Human minds are trained in such a way that if the food comes out in weird colors, the food is weird. Let’s say… Pink bananas? You get my drift. So purple? Let’s just say maybe my baby would like it cause it’s a rainbow color. Nah, my baby is 8 months old what does she know about colors? 😛

So today we tried this purple sweet potato mixed with brown rice porridge (which I’ve painstakingly cooked it over slow fire at 7am and blend it down to its finest at 9am when Charley wakes from her first nap). Here’s a sneak peek:

20140407-125547.jpg
Would you eat that? There’s pork, organic brown rice and sweet potato here. She had a few mouth to determine she wasn’t a huge fan and refuses to open her mouth thereafter.

20140407-132347.jpg
20140407-132333.jpg
20140407-132317.jpg
See what I mean?

I find that the slightly green sweet potato is sweeter than the purple one. To me, this one tasted bland and if I was the one having it, I would definitely spice it up. But of course it would do for Charley, she’s not having sugar and salt in her diet yet. Baking it is another option, but we’ll start on that when she’s older.

Someone said online that the baby poop may turn out purple… Let’s wait to find out. I will definitely update you if it’s true! 😀

3 thoughts on “Charley’s solids – Purple Sweet Potato

Leave a Reply

